Douglas Eakeley

Alan V. Lowenstein Professor of Corporate and Business Law, Distinguished Practice Professor, and Founder/Co-Director, Rutgers Center for Corporate Law and Governance; Faculty Associate


Professor Eakeley joined the Law School in 2012 as the first occupant of the Alan V. Lowenstein Chair in Corporate and Business Law, after several decades in private practice specializing in complex commercial litigation.  He is the founder and co-director of the Rutgers Center for Corporate Law and Governance and the Rutgers Law School Entrepreneurship Clinic.  He teaches courses in business organizations, corporate governance, and compliance & enterprise risk management.

A former Rhodes Scholar and graduate of Yale College (summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa), Oxford University and Yale Law School, Professor Eakeley served as First Assistant Attorney General of the State of New Jersey during the administration of Governor James J. Florio. In 1993, he was appointed by President William J. Clinton (with the consent of the United States Senate) to the board of directors of the Legal Services Corporation, which he chaired until April 2003.   His current professional affiliations include serving as a founding trustee and Chair of the New Jersey Institute for Social Justice, trustee (and former Chair) of Legal Services of New Jersey, and Treasurer of the New Jersey Public Broadcasting Authority.

Professor Eakeley has received numerous awards for his pro bono work and contributions to the community, including the American Jewish Committee’s Judge Learned Hand Award, Thurgood Marshall College Fund Award of ExcellenceJohn Minor Wisdom Public Service and Professionalism Award from the Litigation Section of the American Bar Association, National Housing Institute’s Outstanding Service AwardReynoso-Abascal Don Quixote Award from California Rural Legal Assistance, League of Women Voters of New Jersey Making Democracy Work Award, Lead New Jersey’s Lifetime of Leadership Award, and the first Legal Services of New Jersey/New Jersey State Bar Association’s Pro Bono Publico Award (renamed the Debevoise-Eakeley Award).


Back to Faculty & Staff