Ashley Koning

Assistant Research Professor
Director, Eagleton Center for Public Interest Polling

(848) 932-8940

Dr. Ashley Koning is the director of The Eagleton Center for Public Interest Polling (ECPIP), the oldest university-based statewide public polling operation in the country. Dr. Koning runs and is the face of the Rutgers-Eagleton Poll, manages staff, undergraduates, and graduate students to assist with day-to-day polling operations and studies, and oversees all research projects and client relations. She has been a part of ECPIP for over a decade and has spearheaded a large number of innovations within the Center during this time.

Dr. Koning received her Ph.D. in political science from Rutgers, with concentrations in American politics, women and politics, and methodology. Her research interests are in American public opinion and mass behavior. Additionally, she is an instructor for the political science department at Rutgers. Dr. Koning has authored several book chapters and papers on public opinion. Publications include a chapter on survey research in The Oxford Encyclopedia of Political Decision Making, as well as co-authored chapters in Disaster and Emergency Management Methods, Taking Chances: The Coast after Hurricane Sandy, and The American Governor: Power, Constraint, and Leadership in The States.

Dr. Koning was awarded the 2015 John Tarnai Memorial Scholarship by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO) and has been the recipient of the 2012 American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) Student Travel Award, the first ever AAPOR Student Poster Award (2015), and the 2016 AAPOR Burns “Bud” Roper Fellow Award. She was also named one of NJBiz’s 40 under 40, one of ROI-NJ’s top influencers in higher education in 2022, and one of NJBiz’s Best 50 Women in Business 2023.

Ashley is the Associate Education Chair of the 2024-2025 AAPOR Executive Council and the President of AASRO’s upcoming 2024-2025 Executive Council. She continues to serve on the PA/NJ chapter of AAPOR, which included a term as president from 2021-2022.

Back to Faculty & Staff